首页  >  文章  >  科技周边  >  谷歌在英国遭出版商集体诉讼:索赔 34 亿英镑

谷歌在英国遭出版商集体诉讼:索赔 34 亿英镑

青灯夜游
青灯夜游转载
2023-04-01 10:57:061040浏览

北京时间 3 月 31 日晚间消息,据报道,谷歌今日在英国遭到一起新的集体诉讼,指控谷歌滥用其在线广告业务的主导地位,并索赔 34 亿英镑(约合 42 亿美元,本站备注:当前约 289.34 亿元人民币)。

谷歌在英国遭出版商集体诉讼:索赔 34 亿英镑

这起集体诉讼是由英国《卫报》前科技编辑查尔斯・阿瑟(Charles Arthur)代表出版商而发起的,指控谷歌非法利用其在线广告的主导地位,减少了出版商可以从这些广告中赚取的收入

谷歌对此表示,将大力打击这种“投机性”行为。

这起案件是去年 11 月以来谷歌面临的第二起此类诉讼。当时,英国通讯管理局(Ofcom)前局长克劳迪奥・波拉克(Claudio Pollack)对谷歌提起类似的诉讼,要求谷歌支付高达 136 亿英镑(约合 168 亿美元,本站备注:当前约 1157.36 亿元人民币)的损害赔偿金。

这两起案件均涉及谷歌的广告技术,该技术能在不到一秒钟的时间内决定消费者将看到哪些在线广告,将花费多少钱,以及出版商将获得多少收入。这种在线展示广告是许多网站的主要收入来源。

目前,英国反垄断监管机构“竞争与市场管理局”(CMA)正在调查谷歌在广告技术方面的主导地位。

今日,阿瑟在诉讼书中称:“CMA 目前正在调查谷歌在广告技术领域的反竞争行为,但他们没有权力要求谷歌赔偿那些损失惨重的人。因此,我们只能通过法庭来纠正这一错误,这就是我提出这一诉讼的原因。”

而谷歌称:“我们的广告工具,以及是我们众多广告技术竞争对手的工具,正在帮助数百万网站和应用程序来资助其内容,并使各种规模的企业能够有效地接触到新客户。

除了英国,美国司法部今年 1 月也指控谷歌参与了一场系统性的运动,以夺取出版商使用的大量高科技工具的控制权,从而破坏了广告科技行业的公平竞争。但昨日,谷歌请求一家法院驳回此案,称美国政府夸大了其对市场的控制。

另外,早在 2021 年,法国反垄断监管机构“竞争管理局”(Autorité de la concurrence)就对谷歌处以 2.2 亿欧元(约合 2.3 亿美元,本站备注:当前约 16.48 亿元人民币)的罚款,原因是谷歌在在线广告领域偏袒自家服务。

以上是谷歌在英国遭出版商集体诉讼:索赔 34 亿英镑的详细内容。更多信息请关注PHP中文网其他相关文章!

声明:
本文转载于:ithome.com。如有侵权,请联系admin@php.cn删除

Home  >  Article  >  Technology peripherals  >  Google sued by publishers in UK for £3.4 billion

Google sued by publishers in UK for £3.4 billion

青灯夜游
青灯夜游forward
2023-04-01 10:57:061041browse

Beijing time on the evening of March 31, it was reported that Google was hit with a new class action lawsuit in the UK today, accusing Google of abusing its dominant position in the online advertising business and seeking compensation of 3.4 billion pounds (approximately US$4.2 billion, Note on this site: currently approximately 28.934 billion yuan).

Google sued by publishers in UK for £3.4 billion

This class action lawsuit was initiated by Charles Arthur, the former technology editor of the British "Guardian" on behalf of the publisher. Alleges Google illegally exploited its dominance of online advertising to reduce the revenue publishers can earn from those ads.

Google said it would vigorously crack down on this "speculative" behavior.

The case is the second such lawsuit Google has faced since November. At that time, Claudio Pollack, the former director of the British Communications Authority (Ofcom), filed a similar lawsuit against Google, requiring Google to pay up to 13.6 billion pounds (about 16.8 billion U.S. dollars, this site’s note: currently about 115.736 billion U.S. dollars) RMB) damages.

Both cases involve Google’s ad technology that determines in less than a second which online ads consumers will see, how much they will cost, and how much publishers will receive income. This online display advertising is a major source of revenue for many websites.

Currently, the UK’s antitrust regulator, the Competition and Markets Authority (CMA), is investigating Google’s dominance in advertising technology.

Today, Arthur stated in the lawsuit: "The CMA is currently investigating Google's anti-competitive behavior in the field of advertising technology, but they do not have the power to require Google to compensate those who have suffered heavy losses. Therefore, we can only pass It's up to the courts to right this wrong, which is why I filed this lawsuit."

And Google said: "Our advertising tools, and the tools of many of our ad technology competitors, are helping millions websites and apps to fund their content and enable businesses of all sizes to effectively reach new customers.

In addition to the UK, the US Department of Justice also accused Google in January of participating in a systemic campaign , undermining fair competition in the ad tech industry by wresting control of a host of high-tech tools used by publishers. But yesterday, Google asked a court to dismiss the case, saying the U.S. government had exaggerated its control of the market.

In addition, as early as 2021, the French antitrust regulator "Autorité de la concurrence" (Autorité de la concurrence) imposed a fine of 220 million euros (approximately 230 million U.S. dollars) on Google. Notes on this site: currently about 1.648 billion yuan ) for favoring its own services in online advertising.

The above is the detailed content of Google sued by publishers in UK for £3.4 billion. For more information, please follow other related articles on the PHP Chinese website!

Statement:
This article is reproduced at:ithome.com. If there is any infringement, please contact admin@php.cn delete